Board Members

The Museum of Nursing History, Inc is led by elected officers, a Board of Directors with the support five committees e.g., Executive, Collections, Education, Membership, and Public Relations.  The Museum is grateful for the leadership of these tireless volunteers.

Board members actively participate in acquisition and preservation of nursing uniforms, documents, books, and artifacts. Exhibits of historical items are displayed in designated areas of La Salle University in Philadelphia, PA.

Committees execute a variety of operational activities, as well as plan and promote educational endeavors, schedule rotations of artifacts and uniforms in its variety of glass cases, and plan tours of the Museum for the nursing community and the public.

Board Members

Sandra K. Davis, EdD, RN, President

 Ruth Crothers, PhD, RN-BC, AGCNS-BC, CNOR, Secretary

It is with great sadness that we acknowledge the passing of our Treasurer, Patrick Kenny, Ed.D, RN, ACRN, NE-BC, APRN-PMH, on Wednesday, January 2, 2019. Patrick was a dedicated supporter of the Museum of Nursing History.

Patrick was a resident of Newtown, Pennsylvania at the time of passing. He received his BSN from DeSalles University, Allentown, PA., his MSN from University of Pennsylvania, and his Ed.D from Teachers College, Columbia University. He was passionate about nursing and made many significant contributions to the nursing profession by serving in officer positions for several nursing associations including president of the Pennsylvania State Nurses Association.

He had a long and distinguished career in nursing education and served as a mentor and role model to countless nursing students and colleagues. Patrick led by example in mentoring his students to become excellent nurses and advocates, and in recent years, was dedicated to bringing peace and comfort to hospice patients and their families.

We are mourning the loss of our kind friend and will miss his thoughtful contributions to the museum.

Directors at Large

Jeannine Uribe, PhD, RN, Vice-President

Marion Burns Tuck, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, Membership

Karen Rossi, MSN, RN, Treasurer

Marilyn Harris, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Director Emeritus

Jeannie Kiefner, RN, MED, FNASN, Director Emeritus


Museum Founder

Joan T. Large EdD, RN (deceased)
Director of the History of Nursing Project (1976)